Gautama Buddha

Gautama Buddha

One of the most valuable things we have is peace of mind.But it is a sad fact that our world today is just as full of war and fighting as ever it was. When we are not feeling peaceful, our mind may be racing, or we may be thinking. Due to our thoughts we feels stressed and frantic. According to Buddhism, any unpeaceful, uncontrolled state of mind is a delusion.

Buddha taught his followers the Four Noble Truths as follows:-

  1. Life is/means Dukkha (mental dysfunction or suffering).

  2. Dukkha arises from craving.

  3. Dukkha can be eliminated.

  4. The way to the elimination of dukkha is the Eightfold Path.

Peaceful awareness is the moon of faith that comes forth from within.


According to the early Buddhist texts, after realizing that meditative dhyana was the right path to awakening, but that extreme asceticism didn't work, Gautama discovered what Buddhists call the Middle Way[—a path of moderation away from the extremes of self-indulgence and self-mortification, or the Noble Eightfold Path, as was identified and described by the Buddha in his first discourse, the Dhammacakkappavattana Sutta. In a famous incident, after becoming starved and weakened, he is said to have accepted milk and rice pudding from a village girl named Sujata. Such was his emaciated appearance that she wrongly believed him to be a spirit that had granted her a wish.

According to Buddhism, at the time of his awakening he realized complete insight into the cause of suffering, and the steps necessary to eliminate it. These discoveries became known as the "Four Noble Truths",which are at the heart of Buddhist teaching. Through mastery of these truths, a state of supreme liberation, or Nirvana, is believed to be possible for any being. The Buddha described Nirvana as the perfect peace of a mind that's free from ignorance, greed, hatred and other afflictive states, or "defilements" (kilesas). Nirvana is also regarded as the "end of the world", in that no personal identity or boundaries of the mind remain. In such a state, a being is said to possess the Ten Characteristics, belonging to every Buddha.

Buddha Travels and teaching

For the remaining 45 years of his life, the Buddha is said to have traveled in the Gangetic Plain, in what is now Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and southern Nepal, teaching a diverse range of people: from nobles to servants, murderers such as Angulimala, and cannibals such as Alavaka. Although the Buddha's language remains unknown, it's likely that he taught in one or more of a variety of closely related Middle Indo-Aryan dialects, of which Pali may be a standardization.

The first vassana was spent at Varanasi when the sangha was formed. After this, the Buddha kept a promise to travel to Rajagaha, capital of Magadha, to visit King Bimbisara. During this visit, Sariputta and Maudgalyayana were converted by Assaji, one of the first five disciples, after which they were to become the Buddha's two foremost followers. The Buddha spent the next three seasons at Veluvana Bamboo Grove monastery in Rajagaha, capital of Magadha.

Upon hearing of his son's awakening, Suddhodana sent, over a period, ten delegations to ask him to return to Kapilavastu. On the first nine occasions, the delegates failed to deliver the message, and instead joined the sangha to become arahants. The tenth delegation, led by Kaludayi, a childhood friend of Gautama's (who also became an arahant), however, delivered the message.

Now two years after his awakening, the Buddha agreed to return, and made a two-month journey by foot to Kapilavastu, teaching the dharma as he went. At his return, the royal palace prepared a midday meal, but the sangha was making an alms round in Kapilavastu. Hearing this, Suddhodana approached his son, the Buddha, saying:

Ours is the warrior lineage of Mahamassata, and not a single warrior has gone seeking alms.

Suddhodana (father of Gautama Buddha)

Buddhist Followers

It is said that the followers of the Buddha can be divided into two groups of people: ordained monks and lay people, or lay-Buddhists. The teachings of the Buddha appear to be divided according to the followers they are addressed to and divide into these two groups. The two sets of followers have different roles. The ordained monks learn and practice the Buddha’s teachings dedicatedly and help others understand the teachings. Lay-Buddhists have families and work to support their families and take responsibility for their life by applying the teachings of the Buddha. In reality, the Dhamma of the Buddha is for all. It is not divided at all. Ordained monks, or lay-Buddhists are merely words. They are just the practitioners of the Buddhist teachings. In the Zen tradition, its followers are divided into three: decorator, Master’s servant and learner, or practitioner.

Buddha Quotes

You will not be punished for your anger, you will be punished by your anger.

Gautama Buddha

To understand everything is to forgive everything.

Gautama Buddha

The mind is everything.What you think you become.

Gautama Buddha

You can't travel the path until you have become the path itself.

Gautama Buddha

A jug fills drop by drop.

Gautama Buddha

The tongue like sharp knife...kills without drawing blood.

Gautama Buddha

Your wrost enemy cannot harm you as much as your own unguarded thoughts.

Gautama Buddha

There is no bigger happiness but peace.

Gautama Buddha

If you want peace of mind stop fighting with your thoughts.

Gautama Buddha

True love is born from understanding.

Gautama Buddha

Doubt everything.Find your own light.

Gautama Buddha


Comments -

Submit your Thoughts